Singing in the rain!

June 26, 2012 at 3:20 pm | Posted in Cochlear Implants, Language, Speech | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Well, it’s been one hell of a journey to get to where I am now on the hearing front.  I haven’t blogged for a long time as I have been busy living.  Progress in the last 12 months has not been that noticeable but then I achieved so much in my first 2 years that I’m not sure I can get any better.

I don’t need any maps as I’ve found my sweet spots and when I went back for my annual testing last week they didn’t bother testing me as I’d scored 100% on all the test bar hearing in sound without lips which was 80%.

Any way……enough bragging………lets move on to the interesting stuff.

I have been asked by my hospital to trial the new NEPTUNE from Advanced Bionics!!  Now when it comes to taking the kids swimming or going on holiday my heart has always sunk at the thought of not hearing in the water.  These days could well be over.  The NEPTUNE is the ONLY waterproof cochlear implant device that lets you swim, go under water, shower……….or whatever takes your fancy with water!!  How amazing is that!!

I have it for 3 months to trial.  I’m due in the pool next week so will update on the swimming etc then but for now it is important to review this for an every day use aswell.

It comes in this snazzy little case

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Neptune (not water proofed)

  What you do is adjust your setting to what you feel is the best for a noisy pool environment and then replace the top section that has the dials on with a water proof cover.

 

It ends up half its original size and simply clips onto goggles or swim cap or other accessories such as an arm band that the unit sits in when swimming.

 

 

The Neptune (water proofed)

 

 

You then have a water proof headpiece that you use (you can see that in the main picture above).

It sounds a bit fiddly and there is the obvious down side of not being able to adjust the volume or programmes while it’s water proofed but this is all out weighed by the fact that it enables children, parents of children and any one who wants to hear in water the ability do so.

Now, in order to review it properly as to whether it can replace the behind the ear CI I have tried wearing it during a normal day.  There is a simple answer to this for me……..NO WAY.  I would need to clip it to a tie or collar and have a long headpiece cable flapping around getting caught on things.

If I was a lady with long hair then I would be able to clip it up out of the way but even then it would make it more awkward to adjust settings etc.

 

This makes much more sense for children to use full time as they often have body worn CI’s to start with any way and to able to interact at bath time and while swimming would be so useful.

The sound quality is the usual AB quality.  Excellent.  The mic is in the headpiece and I did wonder if that would affect sound quality but I have to say it is as good if not better than my Harmony processor.  It also has this new function which allows you adjust sensitivity. It works similarly to clear voice but you can adjust it manually depending on your environment.  Very useful.

Next stop the swimming pool!!  I will update you all then…….wish me luck………it might sound awful!!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. That’s fabulous, good luck and let us know how you get on with it :)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

