Tests for Cochlear Implant

February 3, 2010 at 9:12 pm | Posted in Cochlear Implants | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , ,
Its been a while since my last post and this is purely down to a hectic couple of months!
 
Since my last post on CI’s I have had two more appointments for tests which are required as part of the CI process.  The first was my CT and MRI scans on my ears.  These are mainly to see how healthy my cochlear’s are.  If they are in poor condition i.e bone growth then it may reduce my chances of getting good results from the CI itself.  I dont know the results but I assume as I have been hearing most of my life that they should be in reasonable condition.
The second test I have had was last week and that was a ‘Balance test’.  This test was much more in depth and required me to do a few funny things.  I had images of standing on one leg and hopping up and down……………and for some of it I wasn’t far off.  First of all I had to stand with both feet together and close my eyes.  Easy peasy Open-mouthed.  Next I had to stand with one foot in front of the other, heel to toe, and again close my eyes.  This one I did ok with but its not easy.  You try it!!
Then I stepped into the world of one of my own clients!  Doing gym work I quite often get my clients to do silly things as part of their exercise routine and in this case I was asked to stand up with my arms stretched out in front and march on the spot for a minute with my eyes closed.  I felt a right plonker!  Any way when I opened my eyes I had turned slightly to the right……….but not much……..which is a good sign.  This test shows which side you are weakest on for balance.
After this I was sat on a bed with some amusing ski type goggles on and asked to follow a red dot with my eyes.  The goggles had cameras in so the Doctors could study my eye movement.  That was quite good fun Tongue out!  The next and final test wasn’t!  I had to lay down on my back in complete darkness and have hot and cool water pumped into one ear at a time for 20 seconds.  This had the strangest effect of making me go realy dizzy.  To the extent I thought I was going to fall off the bed!  Sick
Apparently that is a normal result so although it wasn’t enjoyable I’m glad it’s over and I’m now another step closer to my possible CI.
My next tests are next week and this is speech, language and phsycology tests.  I have no idea what to expect with this one.  I assume it is mainly for those who have been deaf for life and can’t speak well.  The phsycology bit is probably to do with my state of mind and my realistic expectations for the operation and following switch on.  I will up date you on this afterwards.
Then comes the big one.  I have my ‘FINAL DECISION’ appointment with my surgeon on the 12th Feb.  In this appointment I will find out the results of all my tests and be told if I can have the CI.  If I can then, with the surgeon, I will have to decide which side to operate on and which CI brand to go for!
One step at a time…….Smile
5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good luck Graham! That was interesting to read about your balance tests as I didn’t have those.

    The language tests are how they measure what you can hear through your HAs. You’ll be in a soundproof room and a computer will speak sentences which you’ll repeat back to the audie. They will test left ear, right ear, then both together. I scored 24% (left), 42% (right), and 43% (together). If you score over 50% (together) then you are deemed to be benefitting too well from HAs and would not be offered the CI, unless your score fell very close to 50%. So, “failing” this test is a cause for celebration – which I found weird at first!

    I also had to lipread a man’s face on the computer, with sound and using HAs. I scored 92% in my left ear and 99% in my right. Then they tested me on lipreading only (no sound), and I scored 45% – this is quite a difficult test as there is no expression on the speaker’s face, so there are fewer clues to pick up.

    My psychology test was a set of questions to read on the computer, asking me how I felt about tinnitus, getting a CI etc.

    Keep us updated with your progress!

  2. I forgot to say, the hospital will use the sentence tests to monitor your progress with a CI. As you have an auditory memory, you should be able to achieve scores close to 100% fairly quickly after switch-on, as your brain recognises sounds coming through the processor more easily than one who was born deaf and has no ‘reference map’ for new sounds (like me!).

    • Hi Tina. Thanks for the comments. I’m not sure you realise but you have been talking to me before on my other blog http://grahammoxon.spaces.live.com/default.aspx . I have decided to move all my info over to this blog site as I was getting some problems with people being able to leave messages etc. This is much better!!
      The test you mention re listeming to a man on the screen etc were done in my very first assessment and I only failed this on my hearing test. Since then my hearing has dropped and I passed!! Last week I had the psychology and speech tests and now I have my final assessment next Fri the 12th Feb. I am aaprently not depressed 🙂 I could have told them that……..and I was good with sentences as my brain is good at getting a couple of words and guessing the rest! I was rubbish at single words though!!!
      I have been told that I should do well with the implant because as you say I have good memory of sounds so fingers crossed!!
      Not long till your op now so fingers crossed for you. Do you know if you will get clearvoice yet??
      Follwing your story avidly so keep me posted!!
      Still to update my blog on the last test but I have been so busy!! The BBC have been following my blog and they want my story on the See Hear programme so come March you can see me and the family on the telly!! He He He. I am not looking forward to that. Talking to a camera is not as easy as it seems……..lots of erms and erms and erms :-)!!!
      Best wishes,
      Graham.

  3. Hi, I do remember talking to you but just not where, as I seem to be all over the place! hah. I have saved this blog to my CI blogger’s list on my blog. I think with the psych test, they are looking to find out how you would cope if the CI didn’t work, and to manage your expectations. The single words test is very hard … no context … I scored 33% with lots of guessing.

    I should get Clearvoice, they didn’t mention it but as has arrived in UK already then I will be shouting for it!

    Have a fun time with See Hear. I’ve been on it a few times and the team are lovely. Forget the camera and just talk to Memnos, or whoever is interviewing you. You’ll get lots of people recognising you afterwards 🙂 Let me know when your programme is out.

  4. Hi Tina…….cheers…..my programme is out on the 10th March I think. They want to come and film me at the hospital after my final decision appointment so they get my immediate reaction!! I so hope they aren’t going to turn round and tell me I dont need one. I don’t know why I am worrying about this as it seems a cert I will have the op but in my experience you never know!!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

