Post operation news and count down to switch on!

May 25, 2010 at 12:09 pm | Posted in Cochlear Implants | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

Well it’s been nearly two weeks since my operation and I’m about to go back to work.  Since my last post I have been healing well and the innitial dizziness has subsided.  I have to say the pain has been minimal and the worst part for me has been the increase in my tinnitus.  The best way to describe the noise I had in my head was………when I could hear………….standing on a station platform and the noise you got as the train pulled in.  Loud and unpleasant.  Thankfully now that has gone and I am back to a reduced constant washing machine on spin cycle sound that, although annoying, is far more easy to tune out.

It’s now just 2 weeks to my switch on and I have come across a great little video which describes how the CI works.  I have done lots of research on the subject so I know exactly how it works but I find it quite hard to describe it to thers sometimes.  Have a look and see what you think.

HOW A COCHLEAR IMPLANT WORKS

Not much more to say now until my switch on.  I’m off to see if I can get any fridge magnets or bottle tops to stick to my head 🙂

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hi, Glad to hear your recovery is uneventful. I hadn’t realised the potential for things to go wrong until I started hearing about other people’s problems during recovery. Hopefully your tinnitus will disappear completely after switch-on, it took a few weeks for mine to go. It’s still there, but is much much quieter, and it tends to present only when I take the CI off. Sometimes I have silence. It’s great.

    Have fun playing with your magic spot!

    • No……….nor me 🙂 Now I’m expecting the switch on to be more of a switch off!! I wanna hear noise straight away!! 🙂

  2. Hey, couldnt get the video to work but will keep trying. Good luck with the bottle tops, maybe need to keep drinking the contents to help it stick to yer head. 🙂

  3. It’s really cool using my magnet to take the disposable batteries out of the processor – no broken fingernails! Handy with the dial packs too – if you’ve had HAs you’ll know how fiddly the dial packs are!

    (I do use my rechargeables as well!)

    Any minute now my colleagues will use me as a sniffer dog for missing paperclips.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

