Naida CI Q70 Processor

July 29, 2013 at 9:17 pm | Posted in Cochlear Implants, My Cochlear Implant choice | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

It is 3 years now since I got my AB Harmony Processor switched on! 3 YEARS!  Time has flown.  Those three years have been a real rollercoaster of a ride.  I still wish I had never had the misfortune of losing my hearing suddenly and admittedly those days are tough.  Thank fully those days are lessening and it is thanks to my CI that I have been able to lead a pretty normal life since.

So, whats been going on?  I have made some really cool new friends among the CI world and had the pleasure recently to meet up with some at the BEA Annual Meeting in York last month.  It was at this gathering we were able to have a proper hands on play with the new processor that AB have released.  There has been a lot of talk about it in the CI world and it was really exciting to see it in the flesh and get a proper explanation from the AB pro’s as to what it can actually do!

One of the most pleasing things about it is it’s size! IT’S 40% SMALLER!  I have never had a problem with the current processors size.  My wife tells me I have big ears!  The Naida CI is so small and lightweight that when I tried it on it didn’t feel like I had it on at all.  This is fantastic for all people with smaller ears than me and that includes children.  Any parents looking to get 1 or 2 CI’s for their child should really consider the Naida.

I took some pictures so you can see for yourselves what it(and it’s extras) look like.

The Naida 70                                 Close up of the T-MIC                 MyPilot Remote Control

Naida CI  Naida TMic   My Pilot

 

There is plenty more to shout about this new processor so if you want any more info then just click on the pictures above or follow this LINK 🙂

 

Phonak ComPilot

Phonak ComPilot

Now – by using the Phonak ComPilot you will be able to connect to all your gadgets wirelessly!  The Naida processor has 5 programme slot so, if you are like me and want a programme for every eventuality then this is great.

In simple terms, when wearing this ComPilot around your neck (under you clothing if you wish to hide it) you can then connect directly to any Bluetooth connected gadget.  Listen to music on your smartphone and if a call comes in that is sent straight to your CI too.  Connect to computers, tablets, phones, TV’s (with the Phonak TV Link) and even Sat Navs too!

 

So, what’s next on the horizon!!

Well the eagle eyed of you (in the CI world) may have noticed that the headpiece on the Naida is the same headpiece as you get with the Neptune CI. (See previous posts).  Well, there is a very good reason for this.  As I have said before…….the Neptune is the only 100% waterproof CI on the market.  The clever bods at AB have linked the two CI’s (Naida and Neptune) and used the same headpiece for both.  The reason for this is that it wont be long before an AQUA PACK accessory will be released to use with the Naida.  This will not be some disposable bag that some other designs have but a fully water proof plastic case to fit the Nadia and protect it from the water.  As the headpiece has a microphone itself and is water proof it can then be used to play in the water too!!  Amazing!!  I can’t say any more on this as I haven’t seen it but I can tell you its coming!

Well, if you’ve read this far…….well done and thanks!!

I’ll update more info as it comes through.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hello, which device do you think is better sound wise, Naida or Neptune.

    • Hiya. I can’t comment on the comparison as I don’t have the Naida yet but others that I know have been pleased with both. More sound options with the Naida but water proof with the Neptune. I want both! 🙂


Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.